PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS - SUCCESS!!
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
@offbeatdave
Is the showmount command available in the Joggler ???
eg
showmount -e 192.168.0.13
which should return the path available
Is the showmount command available in the Joggler ???
eg
showmount -e 192.168.0.13
which should return the path available
- offbeatdave
- Posts: 1047
- Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:43 pm
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
I've found that a time or two as well when looking.castalla wrote:I keep coming across this as the default UNC
//192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek
Can you please try that?
"EVERY DAY I'M JOGGLERING!"
Jogglering since Dec '09;
Tinkering with Jogglers since Feb '10 thanks to PMJ, Jogtools, PnP & sqpOS;
Gave something back Feb '12 to Apr '14 with PnP Mk II & PnP III;
Finally 'completed' PnP III Apr '15!
Jogglering since Dec '09;
Tinkering with Jogglers since Feb '10 thanks to PMJ, Jogtools, PnP & sqpOS;
Gave something back Feb '12 to Apr '14 with PnP Mk II & PnP III;
Finally 'completed' PnP III Apr '15!
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Earlier, error got an invalid argument response.
I found this but it doesn't explain much:
http://superuser.com/questions/611264/m ... -smb-share
I found this but it doesn't explain much:
http://superuser.com/questions/611264/m ... -smb-share
- offbeatdave
- Posts: 1047
- Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:43 pm
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
showmount: not found
If I try busybox.new I get showmount: applet not found
If I try busybox.new I get showmount: applet not found
"EVERY DAY I'M JOGGLERING!"
Jogglering since Dec '09;
Tinkering with Jogglers since Feb '10 thanks to PMJ, Jogtools, PnP & sqpOS;
Gave something back Feb '12 to Apr '14 with PnP Mk II & PnP III;
Finally 'completed' PnP III Apr '15!
Jogglering since Dec '09;
Tinkering with Jogglers since Feb '10 thanks to PMJ, Jogtools, PnP & sqpOS;
Gave something back Feb '12 to Apr '14 with PnP Mk II & PnP III;
Finally 'completed' PnP III Apr '15!
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Grasping at straws ... some users getting 'invalid argument' report success by adding ,sec=ntlm to the command line
Had no response on Seagate forum for advice!
Had no response on Seagate forum for advice!
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
This is the command which got the invalid argument error:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
So, adding ,sec=ntlm at the end is worth a try
Probably need to add back Joggler as a user
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
So, adding ,sec=ntlm at the end is worth a try
Probably need to add back Joggler as a user
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Could you also try this:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
Might give some extra clues
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
Might give some extra clues
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
castalla wrote:Could you also try this:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
Might give some extra clues
Code: Select all
login as: joggler
joggler@192.168.0.12's password:
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
mount: invalid option -- e
BusyBox v1.16.1 (2010-04-30 10:35:46 BST) multi-call binary.
Usage: mount [OPTIONS] [-o OPTS] DEVICE NODE
Mount a filesystem. Filesystem autodetection requires /proc.
Options:
-a Mount all filesystems in fstab
-f Dry run
-r Read-only mount
-w Read-write mount (default)
-t FSTYPE Filesystem type
-O OPT Mount only filesystems with option OPT (-a only)
-o OPT:
loop Ignored (loop devices are autodetected)
[a]sync Writes are [a]synchronous
[no]atime Disable/enable updates to inode access times
[no]diratime Disable/enable atime updates to directories
[no]relatime Disable/enable atime updates relative to modification time
[no]dev (Dis)allow use of special device files
[no]exec (Dis)allow use of executable files
[no]suid (Dis)allow set-user-id-root programs
[r]shared Convert [recursively] to a shared subtree
[r]slave Convert [recursively] to a slave subtree
[r]private Convert [recursively] to a private subtree
[un]bindable Make mount point [un]able to be bind mounted
bind Bind a file or directory to another location
move Relocate an existing mount point
remount Remount a mounted filesystem, changing flags
ro/rw Same as -r/-w
There are filesystem-specific -o flags.
#
got this earlier today as well when I was fooling around with letting some things out of the command line (because of " invalid argument ")
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Okay - try the same - but:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Also try:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Code: Select all
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek on /media/media/media-share1 failed: No such device or address
#
Code: Select all
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DATA/Muziek /media/media/media-share2 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13/DATA/Muziek on /media/media/media-share2 failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
Last edited by Error on Sat Sep 28, 2013 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Okay - at least an understandable error.
Try the
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
Try the
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Code: Select all
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13/Muziek on /media/media/media-share1 failed: No such device or address
#
Code: Select all
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13 /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13 on /media/media/media-share1 failed
#
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Our problem is that we can't determine what the address is for the shares on the NAS.
There's no coherent info about how to get the address - that's why we've ended up with all these variations.
At the basic level //ipaddress/Muziek should work .... but as we've seen it doesn't.
I'm almost out of ideas ....
Are you absolutely sure the nas is on ..... 0.13 ??
There's no coherent info about how to get the address - that's why we've ended up with all these variations.
At the basic level //ipaddress/Muziek should work .... but as we've seen it doesn't.
I'm almost out of ideas ....
Are you absolutely sure the nas is on ..... 0.13 ??
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13 /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13 on /media/media/media-share1 failed
.... because there's no sharefolder specified
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13 on /media/media/media-share1 failed
.... because there's no sharefolder specified
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Can you try this:
In Win7 - go to Start - in the Search Programs and files box, type \\192.168.0.13 and hit return
This should open up the file explorer with the share directory - what do you get?
In Win7 - go to Start - in the Search Programs and files box, type \\192.168.0.13 and hit return
This should open up the file explorer with the share directory - what do you get?
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
@error
Can you try the win7 Start tip - posted above - and report back?
I think we've lost track of what we've tried - so, I'm suggesting the following - let's work through the lists systematically???
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev 0 0
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev 0 0
The 0 0 are numbers.
The above assume that the nas is definitely on 192.168.0.13 and that you've set up the user again
Can you try the win7 Start tip - posted above - and report back?
I think we've lost track of what we've tried - so, I'm suggesting the following - let's work through the lists systematically???
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev 0 0
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev 0 0
The 0 0 are numbers.
The above assume that the nas is definitely on 192.168.0.13 and that you've set up the user again
Last edited by castalla on Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
the win7 tip reports the same as when I look it up via windows explorer,
//192.168.0.13/Muziek is the music-share.
I have setup the NAS publiccaly, so no login needed. I can make it to need a login. Have to change the settings for that.
I have no time now but will post back as soon as I've changed it.
//192.168.0.13/Muziek is the music-share.
I have setup the NAS publiccaly, so no login needed. I can make it to need a login. Have to change the settings for that.
I have no time now but will post back as soon as I've changed it.
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
When you open with Start \\ and the explorer window opens - do you only see the Muziek folder ?
- JimbobVFR400
- Posts: 264
- Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:39 pm
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
I'm not sure about PNP but certainly on SqueezeplayOS mounting simply didn't work without having a user name and password with rights to the folder concerned. Guest or anonymous access is what I originally had configured on my NAS for the music share but needed to set up access rights to get it functioning with the Joggler.