Hamclock RPi project on Joggler? - FIXED

General discussion relating to the O2 Joggler, from the default O2 setup, to alternative operating systems and applications.
jothebulb

Hamclock RPi project on Joggler? - FIXED

Post by jothebulb »

Hamclock.jpg
Hi,

New to the forum, but have had a Joggler for a while & have been looking for a use for this solid little gadget.

As a radio amateur, I like the Adafruit Huzzah project 'Ham Clock' over at the Clear Sky Institute: https://www.clearskyinstitute.com/ham/HamClock/ This takes a bunch of useful amateur radio data (UTC time, local weather, satellite passes, moon phases etc.) and displays it all on a simple display, minimum 800x480, with touchscreen control to change displays, enter data etc (the designer has even written the touch keyboard into the software).

I was going to buy the Huzzah kit, inc. touchscreen to build one, but then thought: if it is a. a small-is app & b. runs on Ubuntu/Linux, *perhaps* it would be perfect to get working on a Joggler?

I can get the Ubuntu/X11 working on my Windows 10 laptop using WSL2 & XLaunch/Xming (see image attached of it above, running on the laptop), so I know it will work on Ubuntu, but my question is that if I load the Bionic Kernel onto my Joggler (via a memory stick), is it possible to get this to run on the Joggler? I believe the display of the Joggler is 800x480, so should it/would it run without major modifications?

Thank you in advance for any help with this - it would be great to have this working on my desk like this & it would probably be of interest to other amateurs here.

Jo.
Last edited by jothebulb on Thu Apr 08, 2021 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jothebulb

Re: Hamclock RPi project on Joggler?

Post by jothebulb »

Just to follow up on my own post, naturally I have tried loading it to see if it worked!

The screen display remains at the standard display (IP address etc.), but opening the diagnostic file in the Ham clock software, I have: