SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

General discussion relating to the O2 Joggler, from the default O2 setup, to alternative operating systems and applications.
castalla
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by castalla »

Hang on! Does the above process mean that those of us who don't have the palindrom patch adding Modeltype be affected when a new API key is issued?

Just asking' !

Man in a van
Posts: 291
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:39 pm
Location: Staffordshire. UK

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by Man in a van »

It's all getting a bit "baby out with the bathwater" and "spoil the ship for a ha'peth of tar" in my humble opinion

atb

Ronnie

castalla
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (V3) - joggler brightness and strange pla

Post by castalla »

palindrom wrote: If you are creating a new release, please consider adding the JogglerUpdateModel applet too.

This app will identify our Joggler(s) as being an OF1 or OF2 device to the LMS which is essential for server-side applets.
S1.JPG
S2.JPG
S3.JPG
Well, it seems that in the ickStream case, this has created a big problem. Under the circumstances, I'd suggest it isn't made an integral part of Squeezeplay - but left as a patch for those who want to know their Joggler is an Openframe device.

From what I've seen on the Slimdevices forum, there are 3 Joggler users with no issues, and 1 with problems. If Roobarb wants to go through the approval process, fine. But seems a lot of fuss for very little gain.

Just my ha'peth worth.

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom »

castalla wrote:Hang on! Does the above process mean that those of us who don't have the palindrom patch adding Modeltype be affected when a new API key is issued?

Just asking' !
There is no new API key used. The patch just using a long implemented feature.
If you are using the 7.9 nightly LMS you will see the device type displayed on the various info screens.
Changing the client type to OF1/2 should not create any problems with LMS.

But I understand the ickstream problem. It is caused because they are using the model and not the model name to evaluate the player.
Sooner or later they will ask you to pay for the service. And they should be happy that there is a method to distinguish between different squeezeplay implementations.
For my opinion they should implement true Joggler support ...

But if you arr already on 1.59 you could use my applet to change the type back to squeezeplay.
Last edited by palindrom on Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

castalla
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by castalla »

All I can say is that ickStream and Squeezeplay seem to register okay without the patch.

The API reference is to what the ickStream developers suggest should be done at the Joggler Squeezeplay end by Roobarb

I don't use 7.9 so I can't check what it gives as device type.

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom »

castalla wrote:All I can say is that ickStream and Squeezeplay seem to register okay without the patch.

The API reference is to what the ickStream developers suggest should be done at the Joggler Squeezeplay end by Roobarb

I don't use 7.9 so I can't check what it gives as device type.
I do no mind roobarb! reverting the automatic identification.
That's why I provided the app to the benefit of those who want to use it.

jogglerhase
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:02 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by jogglerhase »

castalla wrote:All I can say is that ickStream and Squeezeplay seem to register okay without the patch.
The API reference is to what the ickStream developers suggest should be done at the Joggler Squeezeplay end by Roobarb
I don't use 7.9 so I can't check what it gives as device type.
Hi Castalla;
just so we are all on the same page: I am not sure what you mean by 'patch'.

This is my setup (which has problems w/ registering the Joggler Squeezeplayer):
Joggler running SPOS v30 with updated LMS to:
Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.0 - 1415364188 @ Sat Nov 8 03:57:31 UTC 2014
Squeezeplayer version:
Player-Modell: SqueezePlay
Gerätetyp: OpenFrame1
Firmware: 7.7.2-r9710

*no* additional patches

And from what I understand from ManinaVan's feedback, he is running the same scenario, only w/ a slightly older LMS Version (7.9.0 - 1411...) - which does not report the 'Gerätetyp' - and for him, it seem to work.

-> I think, everyone will be affected by the problem w/ ickstream, as soon as he/she will run the latest SPOS build in Squeezeplayer (7.7.2-r9710) and any of the newer versions of LMS (i.e. > 7.9.0 - 1415364188)

This is all just my best guess.

*Update*
I think I get it now - by patch you mean this here, right?
roobarb! wrote:Just pushed v1.59 of SqueezePlay. Now includes a simplified (as in, there's no UI!) version of palindrom's JogglerUpdateModel applet. Your devices should automatically identify themselves as OpenFrame1 or OpenFrame2 devices......
And yes, I did update to that....

Hi Roobarb: Is there a way that I can roll v1.59 of SqueezePlay back to the prior version and verify thus, if this created the problem?

castalla
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by castalla »

Yep. That's it - palindrom initially provided a zip file, which Roobarb then incorporated in an update.

I never updated, nor I'd guess did the others who aren't having the problems you are.

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom »

jogglerhase wrote:
Hi Roobarb: Is there a way that I can roll v1.59 of SqueezePlay back to the prior version and verify thus, if this created the problem?

Just for the records. I provided an applet to change the model and/or type of your device.
and I asked to include it into future releases of squeeze OS for Joggler(s).

The current release 1.59 is now providing the the changed type as default value.
You could use the applet now to change the type back to squeezeplay (the old default)...

http://www.jogglerwiki.com/forum/viewto ... 100#p23168

copy the content of the file to:

/opt/squeezeplay/share/jive/applets/JogglerUpdateModel/

and reboot...
Last edited by palindrom on Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

jogglerhase
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:02 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by jogglerhase »

palindrom wrote:
jogglerhase wrote: Hi Roobarb: Is there a way that I can roll v1.59 of SqueezePlay back to the prior version and verify thus, if this created the problem?
You could use the applet I provided to change the type back to squeezeplay...
...
copy the content of the file to:
/opt/squeezeplay/share/jive/applets/JogglerUpdateModel/
and reboot...
Wouldn' that conflict w/ roobarb!s automatic applet?

ilovemyjoggler
Posts: 706
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by ilovemyjoggler »

castalla wrote:I never updated, nor I'd guess did the others who aren't having the problems you are.
oh poop. I did.

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom »

ilovemyjoggler wrote:
castalla wrote:I never updated, nor I'd guess did the others who aren't having the problems you are.
oh poop. I did.
are all of you using ickstream?
Is there any HowTo available?
Is the type change causing any other problem(s) as well?

jogglerhase
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:02 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by jogglerhase »

jogglerhase wrote:
palindrom wrote:
jogglerhase wrote: Hi Roobarb: Is there a way that I can roll v1.59 of SqueezePlay back to the prior version and verify thus, if this created the problem?
You could use the applet I provided to change the type back to squeezeplay...
...
copy the content of the file to:
/opt/squeezeplay/share/jive/applets/JogglerUpdateModel/
and reboot...
Wouldn' that conflict w/ roobarb!s automatic applet?
I just tried this - and it works!

Updated the player model to 'squeezeplay' with your applet, rebootet (not only restart LMS, but OS reboot was needed) and now it reports 'squeezeplay' again and most important - the Joggler Squeezeplayer is now registered to ickstream.

So, we also verified that this *is* the problem.

....phew...

Heiner

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom »

jogglerhase wrote:
palindrom wrote:......
This bash installation script will automatic install and configure your AP
You only have to enter your SSID, password and your speed decision (802.11g/802.11n)
The attachment install_ap.zip is no longer available
.....
Hi Palindrom;
I am using the std. internal Joggler WLAN USB Stick. Everything works fine - but only when using wireless g mode.
If I use your script to switch to n mode, the AP function does not work, i.e. I can not access my network via the joggler, only through my std AP.
Any ideas why that is & how to fix it?

Heiner
I tried the attaches script with "n" option direct after clean reflash. Working. But I needed to power off the joggler.
Pleas try the attaches script (channel 1) please.

EDIT:
We need to wait for the bridge to be ready before we start hostapd

The attaches script will change /etc/network/interfaces accordingly

sudo mv /etc/init.d/hostapd /
sudo /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh
Attachments
install_ap.zip
Updated script
(2.66 KiB) Downloaded 206 times
Last edited by palindrom on Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

castalla
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by castalla »

palindrom wrote:
ilovemyjoggler wrote:
castalla wrote:I never updated, nor I'd guess did the others who aren't having the problems you are.
oh poop. I did.
are all of you using ickstream?
Is there any HowTo available?
Is the type change causing any other problem(s) as well?
Here's the link for ickStream: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthrea ... post796363

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom »

jogglerhase wrote: Hi Roobarb: Is there a way that I can roll v1.59 of SqueezePlay back to the prior version and verify thus, if this created the problem?
You could use the applet I provided to change the type back to squeezeplay...
...
copy the content of the file to:
/opt/squeezeplay/share/jive/applets/JogglerUpdateModel/
and reboot...
Wouldn' that conflict w/ roobarb!s automatic applet?

I just tried this - and it works!

Updated the player model to 'squeezeplay' with your applet, rebootet (not only restart LMS, but OS reboot was needed) and now it reports 'squeezeplay' again and most important - the Joggler Squeezeplayer is now registered to ickstream.

So, we also verified that this *is* the problem.

....phew...

Heiner
THX for verifying. I can confirm. Please be sure to use lower case only: squeezeplay and not SqueezePlay

jogglerhase
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:02 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by jogglerhase »

palindrom wrote:......
This bash installation script will automatic install and configure your AP.....

I tried the attaches script with "n" option direct after clean reflash. Working. But I needed to power off the joggler.
Pleas try the attaches script (channel 1) please.
EDIT:
We need to wait for the bridge to be ready before we start hostapd
The attaches script will change /etc/network/interfaces accordingly

sudo mv /etc/init.d/hostapd /
sudo /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh....
Hi Palindrom;
I tried this new skript - including the prior mv.
And both befor and after your update of the post - no luck.
If I try n mode, no wireless comes up at all. (Even with shutdown and power off)
Going back to g mode fixes it.
Would still be great, if you could get n mode working...
I am just puzzeled, why it works for you??

Heiner

jogglerhase
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:02 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by jogglerhase »

palindrom wrote:.....I tried the attached script with "n" option direct after clean reflash. Working. But I needed to power off the joggler.
Please try the attaches script (channel 1) please.
EDIT:
We need to wait for the bridge to be ready before we start hostapd
The attaches script will change /etc/network/interfaces accordingly

sudo mv /etc/init.d/hostapd /
sudo /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh....
Hi Palindrom;
I tried this now also on a fresh install (on my backup Joggler)
On this one, I do not get any option (g or n) working at all...
Can you pls confirm the steps needed again?

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get -y update
sudo apt-get -y install hostapd
sudo apt-get -y install bridge-utils

copy 'new' install_ap.sh to /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh
give it 0755 rights

sudo mv /etc/init.d/hostapd /
sudo /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh
(enter ssid, pw, g/n)
sudo reboot

Power down & up again
Test it -> Does not work for me
:-(

Heiner

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom »

jogglerhase wrote:
palindrom wrote:.....I tried the attached script with "n" option direct after clean reflash. Working. But I needed to power off the joggler.
Please try the attaches script (channel 1) please.
EDIT:
We need to wait for the bridge to be ready before we start hostapd
The attaches script will change /etc/network/interfaces accordingly

sudo mv /etc/init.d/hostapd /
sudo /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh....
Hi Palindrom;
I tried this now also on a fresh install (on my backup Joggler)
On this one, I do not get any option (g or n) working at all...
Can you pls confirm the steps needed again?

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get -y update
sudo apt-get -y install hostapd
sudo apt-get -y install bridge-utils

copy 'new' install_ap.sh to /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh
give it 0755 rights

sudo mv /etc/init.d/hostapd /
sudo /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh
(enter ssid, pw, g/n)
sudo reboot

Power down & up again
Test it -> Does not work for me
:-(

Heiner



If you have a new installed joggler you only need to copy the script to your joggler
recommended: /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh

or sudo nano /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh
and copy paste the script below...

then execute it
sudo chmod 755 /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh
sudo /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh

it should ask you first for the parameters and then to enter the parameters ant downloading all needed modules.
PuTTY
PuTTY
sudo reboot

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
# /opt/squeezeplay/bin/install_ap.sh

MYTEMPFILE=/tmp/install.ap
HOSTAPDCFG=/etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf
INTERFACES=/etc/network/interfaces
MYSSID=
MYPASS=
MYPERF=
MYPERN=

function write_i () {
WLANMAC=`ifconfig -a | grep "wlan0" 2>&1 | awk -F\addr {'print $2'} | awk -F\  {'print $1'}`
WLANMAC=02"${WLANMAC: -15}"
echo -n "# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
 
# The primary network interface
#auto eth0
    #iface eth0 inet dhcp

# The secondary network interface
#auto wlan0
    #iface wlan0 inet dhcp

auto br0
iface br0 inet dhcp
    #network 192.168.1.0
    #broadcast 192.168.1.255
    #gateway 192.168.1.254
    #netmask 255.255.255.0
    hwaddress ether $WLANMAC
    bridge-ports eth0 wlan0
    up /sbin/ifconfig br0 up 
    post-up /bin/sleep 10 ; /usr/sbin/hostapd -B /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf 
    pre-down /usr/bin/killall hostapd
    down /sbin/ifconfig br0 down
">$MYTEMPFILE
}

function write_g () {
echo "ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
###############################
# Basic Config
###############################
macaddr_acl=0
auth_algs=1
# Most modern wireless drivers in the kernel need driver=nl80211
driver=nl80211
##########################
# Local configuration...
##########################
interface=wlan0
bridge=br0
hw_mode=g
channel=1
ssid=$MYSSID
macaddr_acl=0
auth_algs=1
ignore_broadcast_ssid=0
wpa=2
wpa_passphrase=$MYPASS
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_pairwise=TKIP
rsn_pairwise=CCMP">$MYTEMPFILE
}

function write_n () {
#  details see http://w1.fi/cgit/hostap/plain/hostapd/hostapd.conf
echo "#  /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf
#  authoritative information and specifics are available here:
#  http://hostap.epitest.fi/gitweb/gitweb.cgi?p=hostap.git;a=blob_plain;f=hostapd/hostapd.conf
#  https://wiki.debianforum.de/WLAN-Access-Point_mit_hostapd_und_USB-Stick
#
ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
###############################
#  Basic Config
###############################
macaddr_acl=0
auth_algs=3

#  Most modern wireless drivers in the kernel need driver=nl80211
#  WiFi B/G/N based on the Ralink RT2870 chipset (connected to the internal USB port).
driver=nl80211

##########################
#  Local configuration...
##########################
#  if you want to bridge the onboard eth0 and the wireless USB adapter's wlan0, this should work
interface=wlan0
bridge=br0

#  yes, it says 802.11g, but the n-speeds get layered on top of it
hw_mode=g

#  this enables the 802.11n speeds and capabilities
#  ...  You will also need to enable WMM for full HT functionality.
ieee80211n=1
wmm_enabled=1
wmm_ac_be_aifs=3
wmm_ac_be_cwmin=4
wmm_ac_be_cwmax=10
wmm_ac_be_txop_limit=0
wmm_ac_be_acm=0

#  adjust to fit your location
#  Here is the authoritative list of countries:
#  http://www.iso.org/iso/country_codes/iso_3166_code_lists/country_names_and_code_elements.htm
country_code=DE

#  let your AP broadcast the settings that agree with the above-mentioned regulatory requirements per country
ieee80211d=1

#  makes the SSID visible and broadcasted
ignore_broadcast_ssid=0

#  adjust to fit your preference
ssid=$MYSSID

#  this is how I set mine up
auth_algs=3
wpa=2
wpa_passphrase=$MYPASS
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_pairwise=TKIP
rsn_pairwise=CCMP
macaddr_acl=0

#  self-explanatory, but not all channels may be enabled for you - check /var/log/messages for details
#  also, make sure you survey your 2.4GHz environment, and find some uncluttered/uncrowded channels
# freq		HT40-		HT40+
# 2.4 GHz	5-13		1-9
# 5 GHz		40,48,56,64	36,44,52,60
channel=1
#  these have to be set in agreement w/ channel and some other values... read hostapd.conf docs
#  ...  these can be tuned to specific capabilities per device/chipset
#
#ht_capab=[GF][SMPS-STATIC][HT40-][SHORT-GI-20][SHORT-GI-40][RX-STBC1][MAX-AMSDU-3839]
ht_capab=[HT40+][SHORT-GI-40][SHORT-GI-20]

#  IIUC, this enables reauthentication for clients, so the passphrase doesn't have to be re-entered
#eap_reauth_period=3600
#  ... my understanding... 3600 seconds = 1 hr, so your device would have to reauthenticate if it rejoined after 1 hr
#  I have mine set quite a bit higher than 3600 seconds... so that my iPhone doesn't ask me to type in the password 
#  frequently...  

#   debugging output - uncomment them to activate; issue  hostapd -d /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf
#   to get debugging info in visible/real-time form
#logger_syslog=-1
#logger_syslog_level=2
#logger_stdout=-1
#logger_stdout_level=2">$MYTEMPFILE
}

if [ -f $HOSTAPDCFG ]; then
	MYSSID=`cat $HOSTAPDCFG | grep -oP "^ssid=\K.*"`
	MYPASS=`cat $HOSTAPDCFG | grep -oP "^wpa_passphrase=\K.*"`
	MYPERF=`cat $HOSTAPDCFG | grep -oP "^ieee80211n=\K.*"`
	MYPERF=${MYPERF:-0}
fi
while true; do
	echo 
	read -e -p "Enter SSID: "								-i "${MYSSID:-myhotspot}"	MYSSID
	read -e -p "Enter passphrase: "							-i "${MYPASS:-qwerty0987}"	MYPASS
	read -e -p "Use 802.11n performance(0 - no ,1 - yes): "	-i "${MYPERF:-1}"			MYPERN
	if [ "$MYSSID" != "" ] && [ "$MYPASS" != "" ]; then break; fi
done
if [ ! -f "/etc/default/hostapd" ]; then
	echo
	echo installing packages
	sudo apt-get -y update
	sudo apt-get -y install hostapd
	sudo apt-get -y install bridge-utils
	sudo mv /etc/init.d/hostapd /
	echo updating /etc/default/hostapd
	sudo sed 's/^DAEMON_CONF=.*/DAEMON_CONF="\/etc\/hostapd\/hostapd.conf"/I' -i /etc/default/hostapd
fi

if [ ! -f $HOSTAPDCFG ] || [ "$MYPERN"  != "$MYPERF" ] ; then
	MYPERF=$MYPERN
	if [ $MYPERF != 1 ]; then 
		echo creating 802.11g $HOSTAPDCFG
		write_g 'MYTEMPFILE'
	else
		echo creating 802.11n $HOSTAPDCFG
		write_n 'MYTEMPFILE'
	fi
	sudo mv $MYTEMPFILE		$HOSTAPDCFG
	sudo chown root:root	$HOSTAPDCFG
	sudo chmod 644			$HOSTAPDCFG
else
	echo updating $HOSTAPDCFG
fi
echo access point conifguration
sudo sed "s/^ssid=.*/ssid=$MYSSID/I" -i $HOSTAPDCFG
sudo sed "s/^wpa_passphrase=.*/wpa_passphrase=$MYPASS/I" -i $HOSTAPDCFG

echo creating $INTERFACES
write_i 'MYTEMPFILE'
sudo mv $MYTEMPFILE		$INTERFACES
sudo chown root:root	$INTERFACES
sudo chmod 644			$INTERFACES

#sudo nano $HOSTAPDCFG
#sudo nano $INTERFACES
#ifconfig -a
the script is just downloading the needed files and creating the configuration files.

/etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf

Code: Select all

#  /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf
#  authoritative information and specifics are available here:
#  http://hostap.epitest.fi/gitweb/gitweb.cgi?p=hostap.git;a=blob_plain;f=hostapd/hostapd.conf
#  https://wiki.debianforum.de/WLAN-Access-Point_mit_hostapd_und_USB-Stick
#
ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
###############################
#  Basic Config
###############################
macaddr_acl=0
auth_algs=3

#  Most modern wireless drivers in the kernel need driver=nl80211
#  WiFi B/G/N based on the Ralink RT2870 chipset (connected to the internal USB port).
driver=nl80211

##########################
#  Local configuration...
##########################
#  if you want to bridge the onboard eth0 and the wireless USB adapter's wlan0, this should work
interface=wlan0
bridge=br0

#  yes, it says 802.11g, but the n-speeds get layered on top of it
hw_mode=g

#  this enables the 802.11n speeds and capabilities
#  ...  You will also need to enable WMM for full HT functionality.
ieee80211n=1
wmm_enabled=1
wmm_ac_be_aifs=3
wmm_ac_be_cwmin=4
wmm_ac_be_cwmax=10
wmm_ac_be_txop_limit=0
wmm_ac_be_acm=0

#  adjust to fit your location
#  Here is the authoritative list of countries:
#  http://www.iso.org/iso/country_codes/iso_3166_code_lists/country_names_and_code_elements.htm
country_code=DE

#  let your AP broadcast the settings that agree with the above-mentioned regulatory requirements per country
ieee80211d=1

#  makes the SSID visible and broadcasted
ignore_broadcast_ssid=0

#  adjust to fit your preference
ssid=MYSSID

#  this is how I set mine up
auth_algs=3
wpa=2
wpa_passphrase=MYPASS
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_pairwise=TKIP
rsn_pairwise=CCMP
macaddr_acl=0

#  self-explanatory, but not all channels may be enabled for you - check /var/log/messages for details
#  also, make sure you survey your 2.4GHz environment, and find some uncluttered/uncrowded channels
# freq		HT40-		HT40+
# 2.4 GHz	5-13		1-9
# 5 GHz		40,48,56,64	36,44,52,60
channel=1
#  these have to be set in agreement w/ channel and some other values... read hostapd.conf docs
#  ...  these can be tuned to specific capabilities per device/chipset
#
#ht_capab=[GF][SMPS-STATIC][HT40-][SHORT-GI-20][SHORT-GI-40][RX-STBC1][MAX-AMSDU-3839]
ht_capab=[HT40+][SHORT-GI-40][SHORT-GI-20]

#  IIUC, this enables reauthentication for clients, so the passphrase doesn't have to be re-entered
#eap_reauth_period=3600
#  ... my understanding... 3600 seconds = 1 hr, so your device would have to reauthenticate if it rejoined after 1 hr
#  I have mine set quite a bit higher than 3600 seconds... so that my iPhone doesn't ask me to type in the password 
#  frequently...  

#   debugging output - uncomment them to activate; issue  hostapd -d /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf
#   to get debugging info in visible/real-time form
#logger_syslog=-1
#logger_syslog_level=2
#logger_stdout=-1
#logger_stdout_level=2
/etc/network/interfaces

Code: Select all

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
 
# The primary network interface
#auto eth0
    #iface eth0 inet dhcp

# The secondary network interface
#auto wlan0
    #iface wlan0 inet dhcp

auto br0
iface br0 inet dhcp
    #network 192.168.1.0
    #broadcast 192.168.1.255
    #gateway 192.168.1.254
    #netmask 255.255.255.0
    #hwaddress ether 02:0f:ff:ff:ff:ff
    bridge-ports eth0 wlan0
    up /sbin/ifconfig br0 up 
    post-up /bin/sleep 10 ; /usr/sbin/hostapd -B /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf 
    pre-down /usr/bin/killall hostapd
    down /sbin/ifconfig br0 down
I you start the script after you have downloaded all paccages already it just asks you about the ssid, the password and the channel.
Update
Update
Tested with my OPEN PEAK joggler a minute ago.
hotspot
hotspot

jogglerhase
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:02 pm

Access Point issues

Post by jogglerhase »

Hi Palindrom;
very bizarre...
I followed exactly the steps from the post above - on a freshly flashed Joggler (w/ SPOS3)

The script executed ok (installing the packages, creating the files aso)

But: It just does not work. Not the n mode and also not the g mode.

(Note: The Joggler & SPOS3 itself work fine: I can access access my network via LAN as well via WLAN...

Any ideas how to trouble shoot this?


Heiner

Post Reply