Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30301)

General discussion relating to the O2 Joggler, from the default O2 setup, to alternative operating systems and applications.
User avatar
roobarb!
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:30 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by roobarb! » Sat Apr 18, 2015 8:46 pm

shadow1901 wrote:could someone build a version for openframe2 devices?
This one doesn't run correctly. Hanging apps and no sound.
Just so folk know, this boiled down to bad EFI firmware in the end. We used the of2_telio.img from my little collection to fix it.
birdslikewires.net - home of the Reflash System, SqueezePlay (OS) and various tools for the Joggler!

sanjap
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:15 am

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by sanjap » Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:39 am

How did you install the telio image? Seems it is bigger than the reflash imaged drive. Can i increase the size of the reflash partition? It seems to be only 476MB though my usb stick is 2GB.

Thanks,

JonB
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by JonB » Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:02 pm

There is a problem with the Squeezeplayer of the latest release.

Originaly, I wrote and released the code that added an off button to the Squeezeplayer's front panel, which exited the application and got you back to the Tango UI. Now, since 30300, it is not working. The screen goes blank on touching it, but the Joggler is still in Squeezeplayer. To exit now, I have to scroll and use the menu entry - much less convenient.

Any chance of a fix?

shadow1901
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:03 pm

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by shadow1901 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:13 pm

Hi all

Any news about the question from sanjap?
How I can install this of2_telio.img ?

Thanks for answer

Hank_Marvin
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:45 pm

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by Hank_Marvin » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:47 pm

I've flashed this on and it boots great but I can't putty on, well I get to username and enter joggler and then it asks for password and I enter joggler but it just drops down a line and displays #


Whats the score?

User avatar
roobarb!
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:30 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by roobarb! » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:55 pm

Hank_Marvin wrote:I've flashed this on and it boots great but I can't putty on, well I get to username and enter joggler and then it asks for password and I enter joggler but it just drops down a line and displays #


Whats the score?
That's it - you're in. The # is the command line.
birdslikewires.net - home of the Reflash System, SqueezePlay (OS) and various tools for the Joggler!

Hank_Marvin
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:45 pm

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by Hank_Marvin » Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:54 pm

ahhh I see :oops: lol. thanks!

shadow1901
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:03 pm

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by shadow1901 » Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:39 pm

Hi all

Could someone build a version for the openframe2 version?
The of2_telio image is to big for roobarb reflash tool usb stick.
I tried resize the partition but it doesn't work.
I search a version 303000, who is working well on openframe2 device. (sound, internet and all stuff)
I had flashed the update version, but I haven't sound and some problem with internet (proxy failure)

Thanks and regards

Shadow1901

User avatar
pete
Posts: 2642
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:33 am
Location: Time Traveler

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by pete » Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:59 pm

The ROM EFI image is 1Mb in size whomever is the vendor. Thinking the Telio EFI boot image calls home or disables the USB boot functions. Guessing that writing the Telio eMMC OS to your Openpeak 2 will not be good.

I have had good luck with the original Openpeak 2 (non 3rd party vendor), Verizon and Avaya ROM images and then installing the OS 303000 on the eMMC drive. Same with the Squeezeplayer write to the Openframe2 relating to sound and network.

A bit different hardware on the OpenPeak 2 is a combo bluetooth WLAN mini pcie card and a non socketed ROM chip and different audio chip than the Openpeak 1 and O2 Joggler. (plus DECT and Zigbee chips). I did test the Crystal HD mini Pcie video card and it worked well at streaming 1080 on the Openpeak 2.

One of the changes I made were to the Realtek Gb network interface writing an SROM to it giving it a MAC address.
- Pete

Auto mater

shadow1901
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:03 pm

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by shadow1901 » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:02 am

Hi Pete

I have flashed the of1_30300_openpeak.img.gz. And the newest update
It works, but no sound and trouble with public ip. Proxyproblems....

The EFI rom where I had installed, is this from of2_openpeak.img .
If I install the Squeezplayer OS, they works without problems.

Do you have images? Could you give me some links to download?

Regards and thanks

Shadow1901

User avatar
pete
Posts: 2642
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:33 am
Location: Time Traveler

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by pete » Fri Jan 26, 2018 11:42 am

I did not utilize the Telio EFI base for my currently runnint Openpeak 2 Squeezeplayer. I used the Avaya EFI base.

For the eMMC never have tried using the Telio base image as I had read it didn't work. (that was the one I mentioned that called home).

I am confused. Are you or were you using the DECT - Handsets stuff with the Telio image or service?

Initially I did install the of1_30300 to sort of clean up the 2Gb eMMC. Never checked if the audio worked as from there went to squeeze player. I have a few of the Openpeak 2's and will check them out with just the 1_30300.

I never have had an original Openpeak 2 with Telio on it. My first ones came from Openpeak and were not branded and came in an Openpeak box with one DECT handset. Next then played with a Cisco Openpeak 2 but never used the OS. Never did see an Avaya Openpeak 2 but read that the Avaya EFI seemed a bit more developed. So here replaced my original Openpeak non branded EFI boot stuff with Avaya EFI boot stuff. That said my current crop of using Openpeak 2's are using Avaya EFI boot and the squeezeplayer OS. I did try the Seabios boot and did also once get audio working on it via a USB XP boot stick. Gave up on this endeavor and went to using Openpeak 1's for my windows touchscreens where the audio works fine. The Openpeak 1 is different that the O2 Joggler. It has a Zigbee/DECT - Microphone and massive metal heatsink over the CPU and GPU. Totally different design than the O2. Personally I do like the appearance of the Openpeak 2's with the speakers in the front versus the Openpeak 1 / Joggler O2 with the speakers in the back.

BTW my Openpeak 1's all came with Verizon EFI boot roms and I switched them all to Avaya Boot roms.

BTW2 my currently modded Openpeak1 is configured with an RTC / USB Hub and is booting Ubuntu (Buzz's latest) from the Emmc to the 16Gb SSD drive inside of the box. I also utilize a USB stick inside for more space. Testing this one with a wired Deca 100Mb connection that utilizes TV cable (endpoints are $6 a piece). It does work better than the wireless connection.

IE: have 15 Openpeak seabios'd touchscreens running Windows, Openpeak devices 16-30 are running with original EFI boot stuff.


With the above and now playing with Zigbee I would like to get to utilizing the Zigbee chip in the Openpeak2 or Openpeak1 along with using the DECT chip in these. I have been able to use the Openpeak DECT phones with my DECT system but they were not totally functional. Currently have nightstand Openpeak 1's and next to them DECT phones. Combining the two would be great. This and using text to speech would really provide more features than the Amazon / Google voice boxes.

In a recap do I have this right?

1 - you want to boot up using the Telio EFI boot firmware (1Mb)
2 - install the Telio OS on to the 2Gb eMMC flash?

It is easy to resize the firmware. IE: none of it uses all of the original 1Gb or 2Gb eMMC drives.

Just write it to a USB stick. Use GParted to resize the OS partition and leave the boot fat partition alone. Make it smaller than 2 Gb, write it to the eMMC then expand the partition to occupy the entire 2Gb.

Thinking for the 1_30300 OS you will need to have a look at the Squeezeplayer OS audio stuff or drivers. The 1_30300 OS here works fine on the O2 Jogglers and Openpeak 1 devices I have that I have seen. Never looked at the 1_30300 relating to audio running on the Openpeak 2's. Again though the audio devices (chips) are different on the Openpeak 2 versus the Openpeak 1 and Joggler o2.
- Pete

Auto mater

User avatar
pete
Posts: 2642
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:33 am
Location: Time Traveler

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by pete » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:13 pm

The of2_telio image is to big for roobarb reflash tool usb stick.
I tried resize the partition but it doesn't work.


There are two sets of images.

1 - EFI boot images are all 1Mb in size.
2 - The eMMC firmware images should be less than 1Gb on the O2 Joggler and Openframe 1 and the firmware images for the Openframe 2 are or should be less than 2Gb. These are all original firmware images and there is no need to use them unless you want to customize one for your own use.

That said for a running OS on a 1Gb or 2Gb eMMC you would not use any of these images.

What does work is the Squeezeplayer image on either of the two sized eMMC chips.

You can maybe install this Squeezeplayer image then remove Squeezeplayer and do your own stuff with the OS. Thinking it is Ubuntu 14.04 very thin.

The of1_30300 image should work on the O2, Openframe1 and 2 boxes. I have only written the images and used them for the O2 or Openframe1 but never the Openframe2 box.
- Pete

Auto mater

shadow1901
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:03 pm

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by shadow1901 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:13 am

I had resize the reflash usb stick to 2Gb.
I tried the telio image for OF2, but no sound.
So I used the OpenPeak Firmware V30300 and "PnP III v3.60 July 2017 Update".
The Operabrowser isn't good. On each sites, they are missing some buttons in page.
It's possible to use an other browser? And sound doesn't work :-(

If I start the squeezeplayer, I can select the language and after to choose the "registered site from squeezeplayer". The player crashed and I'm on the default desktop.

thanks

Shadow1901

User avatar
pete
Posts: 2642
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:33 am
Location: Time Traveler

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by pete » Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:24 pm

Yeah here have two Openframe (OpenPeak2's) running with Squeezebox player written to the 2Gb eMMC. Never have tried the USB boot stick for Squeezebox player on these. This is the same as the O2 Joggler except that Squeezebox player was installed on a 1Gb eMMC. Note that they have the Avaya boot rom installed. I have though tried Buzz's Ubuntu on a boot stick on these and sound and network work fine. I have installed PnP III on these and the images and GUI looked fine but I never tested for sound on these.

I would recommend just running Buzz's Ubuntu on the OpenPeak 2's and use the Avaya EFI boot rom rather than the Telio EFI boot rom and not even play with the Telio OS on the 1-2 Gb eMMC. You can clean up the 2Gb eMMC partition booting up with Buzz's Ubuntu and using GParted on the eMMC partition; then write a fresh image to it. Only caution to remember is that the boot EFI chip on the Openpeak 2 is soldered in to place and not easy to fix if you trash it.
- Pete

Auto mater

theastroboy88
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:36 pm

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by theastroboy88 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Hi,

I got an OpenFrame2 (the one with the speakers at the front/bottom) without the power adapter, but it booted up with a spare 5VDC2A power adapter.

Ideally, I want to use the OF2 for music streaming off a nas, weather, news, time, internet browsing, video streaming, file-sharing server and dlna server. I learnt some after going through numerous posts on this forum.

I flashed 30300 OF1 OS onto my OF2, but it has got no sound. I then flashed the SQPOS303 (OF2 version) with sound.

Is there an advantage in flashing the EFI boot rom to Avaya EFI boot rom? How do I do this?

The SQPOS303 generally works, except it doesn't do weather, news, internet browsing, video streaming, file-sharing server and dlna server. Internet browsing, video streaming, file-sharing server and dlna server are non-essential. Can I add some of these apps to SQPOS303?

Is Ubuntu by buzz a better choice for my needs? If so, how do I go about adding the apps?

How can I fix the sound with 30300 OF1 OS?

Thanks for the great info, guys.


P.S. With the original OS, my OF2 booted up with an "Open Peak" screen followed by a "Direct Energy" splash screen. Direct Energy is a gas provider here in Canada. After 30300 OF1 OS or SQPOS303 was installed, the "Direct Energy" screen was gone.

User avatar
pete
Posts: 2642
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:33 am
Location: Time Traveler

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30300)

Post by pete » Fri Feb 02, 2018 12:06 am

Personally here use the Avaya EFI boot ROM on my Squeezeplayer OF2 (with speakers in the front) but it was used for a different reason relating to SSD boot way long time ago. If you currently have the Openpeak EFI boot then you are OK.

Sound works fine with the OF2 with Buzz's build.

The OF2 has a different sound chip than the O2 and the OF1.

I was able to get sound working once with an XP build / boot. I could never get it going after the first time.

When you wrote the 30300 OF1 OS to your OF2 you over wrote the original OS "Direct Energy".

How can I fix the sound with 30300 OF1 OS?

I do not think that you can.
- Pete

Auto mater

User avatar
roobarb!
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:30 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30301)

Post by roobarb! » Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:12 am

Hey everyone, just a heads-up that I've updated this image after six years!

All calls to the defunct openpeak.net servers are now being sent to openbeak.net, a service I'm running on the birdslikewires.net site. This removes the (remote) possibility of somebody to buying up openpeak.net and doing something we wouldn't like with it. No way I could afford to pay off the squatters for openpeak.net, so the puns are rolling!

Instead, I'm hoping that someone out there knows a little about what responses the OpenPeak servers would have sent to the OpenFrames, as it would be great to get a firmware update system running which allows people to reflash their locked-down devices (which could be achieved with a little DNS redirection).

Anyway, I'll start a separate topic on that tomorrow. That's quite enough for this evening.
birdslikewires.net - home of the Reflash System, SqueezePlay (OS) and various tools for the Joggler!

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1877
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30301)

Post by hawsey » Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:07 am

Nice one Cheers .

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Happy Joggling

JonB
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30301)

Post by JonB » Sat Aug 25, 2018 5:06 pm

Now this is interesting...

I still have a problem with the wifi on my devices. I wonder if the new firmware will fix it...? Anyway, thanks for persevering with it. I'm flashing now after several false starts, probably caused by Safari opening the .gz and me not realising it had uncompressed it in situ. With the image uncompressed the boot fails and / or you can't copy it to the USB stick. All my fault - more haste less speed etc.

The reflash appears to have gone well and it is rebooting. Got O2 splash screen then OpenPeak, followed by Tango home screen. So far so good, but it cannot see my wireless network. Locked up with a wired connection on acquiring IP address. On a reboot I have an IP address! Time to go nosing about I guess..

User avatar
pete
Posts: 2642
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:33 am
Location: Time Traveler

Re: Updated OpenPeak Firmware (Version 30301)

Post by pete » Sat Aug 25, 2018 8:05 pm

Could be just a DHCP request error with your router.
- Pete

Auto mater

Post Reply