Page 8 of 15
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 5:04 pm
by castalla
@offbeatdave
Is the showmount command available in the Joggler ???
eg
showmount -e 192.168.0.13
which should return the path available
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:46 pm
by offbeatdave
castalla wrote:I keep coming across this as the default UNC
//192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek
Can you please try that?
I've found that a time or two as well when looking.
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:51 pm
by castalla
Earlier, error got an invalid argument response.
I found this but it doesn't explain much:
http://superuser.com/questions/611264/m ... -smb-share
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 7:04 pm
by offbeatdave
showmount: not found
If I try busybox.new I get showmount: applet not found
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 7:07 pm
by castalla
Grasping at straws ... some users getting 'invalid argument' report success by adding ,sec=ntlm to the command line
Had no response on Seagate forum for advice!
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 7:28 pm
by castalla
This is the command which got the invalid argument error:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
So, adding ,sec=ntlm at the end is worth a try
Probably need to add back Joggler as a user
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 7:37 pm
by castalla
Could you also try this:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
Might give some extra clues
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 9:04 pm
by Error
castalla wrote:Could you also try this:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
Might give some extra clues
Code: Select all
login as: joggler
joggler@192.168.0.12's password:
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
mount: invalid option -- e
BusyBox v1.16.1 (2010-04-30 10:35:46 BST) multi-call binary.
Usage: mount [OPTIONS] [-o OPTS] DEVICE NODE
Mount a filesystem. Filesystem autodetection requires /proc.
Options:
-a Mount all filesystems in fstab
-f Dry run
-r Read-only mount
-w Read-write mount (default)
-t FSTYPE Filesystem type
-O OPT Mount only filesystems with option OPT (-a only)
-o OPT:
loop Ignored (loop devices are autodetected)
[a]sync Writes are [a]synchronous
[no]atime Disable/enable updates to inode access times
[no]diratime Disable/enable atime updates to directories
[no]relatime Disable/enable atime updates relative to modification time
[no]dev (Dis)allow use of special device files
[no]exec (Dis)allow use of executable files
[no]suid (Dis)allow set-user-id-root programs
[r]shared Convert [recursively] to a shared subtree
[r]slave Convert [recursively] to a slave subtree
[r]private Convert [recursively] to a private subtree
[un]bindable Make mount point [un]able to be bind mounted
bind Bind a file or directory to another location
move Relocate an existing mount point
remount Remount a mounted filesystem, changing flags
ro/rw Same as -r/-w
There are filesystem-specific -o flags.
#
So, home again.. this is the code i'm getting
got this earlier today as well when I was fooling around with letting some things out of the command line (because of " invalid argument ")
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 9:13 pm
by castalla
Okay - try the same - but:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 9:17 pm
by castalla
Also try:
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 9:36 pm
by Error
Code: Select all
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek on /media/media/media-share1 failed: No such device or address
#
I do get
Code: Select all
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DATA/Muziek /media/media/media-share2 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13/DATA/Muziek on /media/media/media-share2 failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
?? WTF is that??
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 9:40 pm
by castalla
Okay - at least an understandable error.
Try the
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 9:52 pm
by Error
Code: Select all
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13/Muziek on /media/media/media-share1 failed: No such device or address
#
interesting??
Code: Select all
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13 /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13 on /media/media/media-share1 failed
#
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:03 pm
by castalla
Our problem is that we can't determine what the address is for the shares on the NAS.
There's no coherent info about how to get the address - that's why we've ended up with all these variations.
At the basic level //ipaddress/Muziek should work .... but as we've seen it doesn't.
I'm almost out of ideas ....
Are you absolutely sure the nas is on ..... 0.13 ??
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:16 pm
by castalla
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13 /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13 on /media/media/media-share1 failed
.... because there's no sharefolder specified
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:26 pm
by castalla
Can you try this:
In Win7 - go to Start - in the Search Programs and files box, type \\192.168.0.13 and hit return
This should open up the file explorer with the share directory - what do you get?
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:24 pm
by castalla
@error
Can you try the win7 Start tip - posted above - and report back?
I think we've lost track of what we've tried - so, I'm suggesting the following - let's work through the lists systematically???
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev 0 0
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev 0 0
The 0 0 are numbers.
The above assume that the nas is definitely on 192.168.0.13 and that you've set up the user again
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:02 pm
by Error
the win7 tip reports the same as when I look it up via windows explorer,
//192.168.0.13/Muziek is the music-share.
I have setup the NAS publiccaly, so no login needed. I can make it to need a login. Have to change the settings for that.
I have no time now but will post back as soon as I've changed it.
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:26 pm
by castalla
When you open with Start \\ and the explorer window opens - do you only see the Muziek folder ?
Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS
Posted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:47 pm
by JimbobVFR400
I'm not sure about PNP but certainly on SqueezeplayOS mounting simply didn't work without having a user name and password with rights to the folder concerned. Guest or anonymous access is what I originally had configured on my NAS for the music share but needed to set up access rights to get it functioning with the Joggler.