SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

General discussion relating to the O2 Joggler, from the default O2 setup, to alternative operating systems and applications.
Man in a van
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:39 pm
Location: Staffordshire. UK

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by Man in a van »

@Berns

So I have a Joggler with sqpos303 installed and the EDO applet on the internal memory

I do:

Code: Select all

sudo sed -i.bak 's/ubuntu.datahop.net/archive.ubuntu.com/g' /etc/apt/sources.list

	sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libio-socket-ssl-perl libnet-libidn-perl libnet-ssleay-perl libcrypt-openssl-rsa-perl lame

	wget http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/8.1/lms/51b8fe3afa8d51a8b8ca07eb580fd7676d7f825e/logitechmediaserver_8.1.2~1617513319_i386.deb 
	
	sudo dpkg -i logitechmediaserver_8.1.2~1617513319_i386.deb 

	sudo apt -f install
To LMS I add the following plugins

Material
Music and Artist Information
Radio Paradise
BBC Sounds
Radio France
and the updated HLS:- http://bpa-code.github.io/bpaplugins/re ... ls-v2.xml
All play through the attatched usb dac (Stoner Aqoustics).

This is safari on iphone, Material saved as a desktop shortcut (Tip: after configuring Material, save settings as "Default")

Image

So the Joggler running 7.8.0 should be able to upgrade.

When I was running LMS on the Internal memory of the Joggler (along with Squeezeplay) I happened to mention my routine of upgrading on the slimdevices forum.

At that time (because of space limitations, it was not possible to download the new version, I used to purge the old and install the new, and then reconfigure).

A member on the forum (django) advised me to just do

Code: Select all

sudo apt remove logitmediaserver
This removed most of the build but left the preferences (and I think, the cache).

hope this helps

ronnie

remember to remove the lms file you downloaded :)
User avatar
roobarb!
Posts: 1662
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:30 pm
Location: Salford, UK
Contact:

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by roobarb! »

This is great; I've not used LMS for quite some time now, but I'm really pleased it can be brought up to the newest version. Kudos to the LMS team for keeping the 32-bit versions ticking and to @Man in a van for keeping everyone informed! Given the extended support for Ubuntu 18.04 through to 2028 it bodes really nicely for the next decade of Joggler use! 8-)

Mine are all automation / camera displays or AirPlay receivers at the moment. Thankfully the server which builds the vanilla OpenFrame images wasn't involved in the recent OVH fire (we're in Roubaix, not Strasbourg). :lol:
jkn
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:18 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by jkn »

I have an associated question/problem to the one above, though not exactly the same...

I have a couple of jogglers with sqpos303, connecting to a home NAS running logitechmediaserver. This all works fine, even though the server version is old:

Code: Select all

$ yum list logitechmediaserver
    logitechmediaserver.noarch                                                       1:7.9.1-0.6.20170928git1508251793.fc20
Recently, I have been trying to install LMS on a newer server, so that I can swap out the old NAS. The installation goes fine (I can used the LMS web interface etc.), but when I try to swap the 'remote library' on the joggler to the new server, I get the same error as a few posts above "<server> has to be upgraded to a newer version...".

This can't be right, I *am* installing newer versions. I've tried three so far:

Code: Select all

logitechmediaserver_7.9.4~1603273368_amd64.deb
logitechmediaserver_8.0.1~1608617100_amd64.deb
logitechmediaserver_8.2.0~1618550339_amd64.deb
Any idea what the problem might be here? Is the joggler getting confused trying to switch between servers running different versions, and giving a duff error message?

I s'pose it should be noted that these are AMD64 versions...

Thanks for any thoughts,
Jon N
Man in a van
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:39 pm
Location: Staffordshire. UK

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by Man in a van »

@jkn

Maybe try pulling the power on the Joggler and leaving it for 24 hours, then power up and try again ? :geek:
jkn
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:18 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by jkn »

Man in a van wrote: Thu Apr 22, 2021 10:52 pm @jkn

Maybe try pulling the power on the Joggler and leaving it for 24 hours, then power up and try again ? :geek:
Hi - TBH I had thought of that, it's finding the right 'domestically acceptable' time...

FWIW I also tried to remove the current 'active' server, so that I could start from scratch as it were. But the joggler UI doesn't seem to allow that.

I'll try some version of the above and report back...

Cheers, J^n
Paul Webster
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:56 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by Paul Webster »

When LMS player connects to LMS it is told the version of the LMS it is connecting to.
There is a bug in the version comparison check that is made by the Squeezeplay in SQPOS303 which leads to it incorrectly reporting that it cannot work with versions of LMS 8 and higher.

I have posted a fix Squeezeplay for that (it is here somewhere) but you should not need it ...

There is a patch to LMS that looks at the version number of the player and then reports a fake LMS version number back to it so that the player bug is side-stepped. This was done because the buggy version of Squeezeplay is in some real Squeezebox hardware.

I said that you should not need the Squeezeplay patch because the LMS patch is in recent LMS 8.1 and 8.2 ... so double check that your LMS builds are recent (patch to LMS was earlier this year I think).

If that is not the problem then have a dig around this forum for my Squeezeplay patch. It is a few lines to copy/paste in one file. To do it you simply SSH to the Joggler and edit the file then restart Squeezeplay.
jkn
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:18 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by jkn »

Paul Webster wrote: Fri Apr 23, 2021 7:17 am When LMS player connects to LMS it is told the version of the LMS it is connecting to.
There is a bug in the version comparison check that is made by the Squeezeplay in SQPOS303 which leads to it incorrectly reporting that it cannot work with versions of LMS 8 and higher.

I have posted a fix Squeezeplay for that (it is here somewhere) but you should not need it ...

There is a patch to LMS that looks at the version number of the player and then reports a fake LMS version number back to it so that the player bug is side-stepped. This was done because the buggy version of Squeezeplay is in some real Squeezebox hardware.

I said that you should not need the Squeezeplay patch because the LMS patch is in recent LMS 8.1 and 8.2 ... so double check that your LMS builds are recent (patch to LMS was earlier this year I think).

If that is not the problem then have a dig around this forum for my Squeezeplay patch. It is a few lines to copy/paste in one file. To do it you simply SSH to the Joggler and edit the file then restart Squeezeplay.
Hi Paul
thanks, that's really useful information.

I did try pretty recent 8.x versions of LMS, so I would have expected that they would have contained the patch you mention. Also, the current version I am failing to connect to is 7.9.4, so I would have thought this situation wouldn't apply. Nevertheless it gives me some pointers ... perhaps I have not uninstalled something properly. I'll experiment a bit and also look for the SQPOS patch you mention.

(I tried leaving the joggler off overnight and disabling the original server etc, but still got the error when attempting to connect to the new server this morning).

Cheers, J^n
jkn
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:18 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by jkn »

Update - I seem to have got this sorted. I did a more full clearout of LMS on the new server (dpkg --purge, and then got rid of /var/lib/logitechmediaserver IIRC), then reinstalled (7.9.4, good enough for me I think), and things seem to be OK.

I will take a look at 8.x later, after I've moved everything over...

Thanks, Jon N
Post Reply