SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

General discussion relating to the O2 Joggler, from the default O2 setup, to alternative operating systems and applications.
User avatar
roobarb!
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:30 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by roobarb! » Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:53 pm

kazan wrote:I've just installed new ver of SqueezePlay OS (ext ver.) on o2 joggler but I'm having some problems to run it. At the first start I can chose language, wired connection but it doesn't connect to mysqueezebox.com. It says "We couldn't connect to ..."
My internet is fine. I can see joggler on network but no idea why it doesn't connect to mysqueezebox.com. Any ideas?
Yup, mysqueezebox.com is finicky and the system in SqueezePlay to connect to it appears to be just as bad. If anything, I'll remove the option to add it in the future, but I'll not be spending much time on it.
kazan wrote:Edit1: after playing with menu and going back and forwards it finally allowed me to go to main menu and register to my account on mysqueezebox.com but when I check what players I've on mysqueezebox.com it shows me "SqueezePlay" but doesn't display icon:
Image
If I click on "open img in new tab" it shows me:

Code: Select all

"Error reading file docroot/static/images/players/OpenFrame1.png: read_file '/opt/sn/docroot/static/images/players/OpenFrame1.png' - sysopen: No such file or directory at /opt/sn/script/../lib/SDI/SqueezeNetwork/Controller/Public/ImageProxy.pm line 104"
Also, "Type:" for this joggler on mysqueezebox.com shows as "Squeezebox Controller", where my other joggler with buzz distro is shown as "Squeezeplay, Squeezebox Controller". Does it make any difference?
That is not a big problem, just would like to know what is going on with this :?: ;)
Yes, it's because our version of SqueezePlay is trying to be a good citizen and is identifying itself properly. However, because related services don't really know what to do with the information, I'm beginning to reconsider this. It's the second service that has reported problems.

If you wish to remove this yourself:

Code: Select all

rm -rf /opt/squeezeplay/share/jive/applets/JogglerUpdateModel
Then:

Code: Select all

rm -rf ~/.squeezeplay
Then reboot. Your settings will go back to defaults, but it will just report itself as SqueezePlay again.
kazan wrote:Edit2: I think there is a problem with this new image. If I will remove USB WiFi from my joggler (I want to have USB memory inside) then wired connection doesn't work even if I will setup static IP address in /etc/network/interfaces. It just shows "no network address has been assigned to the eth0" where I have actually set static IP. Any ideas?
It's likely because you've pulled the network card from which the system generates it's MAC address. If you remove the wireless card, reset the network settings from Settings > Network. Reboot and let the Joggler pick up a DHCP address, then SSH in and set your static address on the command line.
birdslikewires.net - home of the Reflash System, SqueezePlay (OS) and various tools for the Joggler!

Commodore.White
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:34 am

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by Commodore.White » Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:39 am

Hi y'all. Took my joggler with v3 installed on an hdd to test (show off) to a mate on his hifi. Was disappointed to find i couldn't use it without registering it on his local network. Is this normal or have I missed a trick? We wanted to use it at a village hall as a source of background Christmas music for an event last weekend. Regards

Ps. My mate was impressed so now I have to source another joggler - sigh

Posted previously in the wrong thread

User avatar
roobarb!
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:30 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by roobarb! » Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:37 am

Commodore.White wrote:Hi y'all. Took my joggler with v3 installed on an hdd to test (show off) to a mate on his hifi. Was disappointed to find i couldn't use it without registering it on his local network. Is this normal or have I missed a trick? We wanted to use it at a village hall as a source of background Christmas music for an event last weekend.
I've never used a Joggler off-network for this, though I think other people have. So long as you have LMS installed, it should be possible to get this to work. If I get chance I'll take a look into it, but if anyone else has used their system with a localhost connection to LMS, now would be a great time to comment!
Commodore.White wrote:Ps. My mate was impressed so now I have to source another joggler - sigh
That's a good thing! More converts! :)
birdslikewires.net - home of the Reflash System, SqueezePlay (OS) and various tools for the Joggler!

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom » Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:34 pm

Hi roobarb!

THX for providing update 1.60.
This will stop people from complaining about OpenFram1/2 DeviceType/DeviceName.

User avatar
roobarb!
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:30 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by roobarb! » Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:42 pm

palindrom wrote:THX for providing update 1.60.
This will stop people from complaining about OpenFram1/2 DeviceType/DeviceName.
Yeah, unfortunately killing off the Player Type reporting needed to be done. It would have been nice for services not to be controlling access in that manner, but if that's how it has to be... 8-)
birdslikewires.net - home of the Reflash System, SqueezePlay (OS) and various tools for the Joggler!

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom » Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:01 pm

kazan wrote: If I click on "open img in new tab" it shows me:

Code: Select all

"Error reading file docroot/static/images/players/OpenFrame1.png: read_file '/opt/sn/docroot/static/images/players/OpenFrame1.png' - sysopen: No such file or directory at /opt/sn/script/../lib/SDI/SqueezeNetwork/Controller/Public/ImageProxy.pm line 104"
The "broken link" problem was fixed by Logitech. You should see now the softsqueeze image.
Image

paulbass
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:32 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by paulbass » Mon Dec 22, 2014 3:04 pm

So today has posed a few problems...........

A power cut last night seems to have corrupted my internal installation of SPos. So I decided to flash the latest version (3.01) . all went well apart from I no longer seem to have LMS installed on the joggler. I also have no option in additional features to manually install LMS.

The joggler will connect to an external LMS (running on my Zylex nsa310 Nas) fine, but I need a instance of LMS on the joggler to run the triode iplayer plugins ( the zylex will not transcode the streams)

I am presuming this is a memory issue, although my last setup (version 2.9? I think) fitted onto the internal memory with LMS ok.

Looking in storage usage I have size-935M ; used-578M ; available-310M ; % used-66%

So.... surely this is not a universal problem and if not how can I resolve this?

does the re flashing tool reset all partitions?

Any help appreciated, could do with this working for the holidays

Paul

Man in a van
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:39 pm
Location: Staffordshire. UK

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by Man in a van » Wed Dec 24, 2014 12:32 pm

Paul,

roobarb!
has always discouraged using the internal memory for Squeezeplay, so why not re-install the old v2.6 or use an external USB stick for the latest new version.


http://birdslikewires.co.uk/download/op ... zeplay/os/


atb

Ronnie

paulbass
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:32 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by paulbass » Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:14 pm

Thanks for the reply Ronnie, unfortunately my current setup makes use of the internal wifi card and also connects via usb to a topping TP30 amp, to utilise the amps internal dac. I do not have a usb hub to hand, and the system looks a lot neater without one.

SPos has obviously been developed to be installed to both internally and externally, i just wondered why my install was not working as intended and what options had to try and resolve the situation.

I may revert to version 2 as a stop gap and also use a memory card on the internal slot once my ethernet cable is installed and wifi is no longer needed

Paul

shadow1901
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:03 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by shadow1901 » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:15 pm

Hi I've flashed 2 untouched Openframe2 devices.
The problem is, that I see only the bootlogo after reboot and nothing happens.
Somebody know any solution.

the flashing process was succesfull.

Thanks for helps.

Shadow1901

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:47 pm

shadow1901 wrote:Hi I've flashed 2 untouched Openframe2 devices.
The problem is, that I see only the bootlogo after reboot and nothing happens.
Somebody know any solution.

the flashing process was succesfull.

Thanks for helps.

Shadow1901
Just check if you are using the right - internal - image.
sqpos301_of2.img.gz

Is it relay a OF2 HW with a front facing speakers?
See: Which version should I download?
http://birdslikewires.co.uk/articles/squeezeplay-os

shadow1901
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:03 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by shadow1901 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:33 am

Hi palindrom

Yes I use the version 2.
If I flash the openframe os, so it works.
But if I use the sqpos301_of2.img.gz, the joggler is still hanging with bootlogo from Swisscom.

Regards

User avatar
roobarb!
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:30 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by roobarb! » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:26 pm

shadow1901 wrote:If I flash the openframe os, so it works.
But if I use the sqpos301_of2.img.gz, the joggler is still hanging with bootlogo from Swisscom.
Odd. I'll check the images tomorrow, just in case. I've got a couple of minor tweaks to pop in too, if I can remember what they were!
birdslikewires.net - home of the Reflash System, SqueezePlay (OS) and various tools for the Joggler!

shadow1901
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:03 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by shadow1901 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:59 pm

If I start the first time, so i received the Setup menue from SwisscomOpenframe.
In first situation, I interupt this sequenze after get a ip adress. In this Joggler the flashing and after reboot works.

In the second Joggler, I interupt the sequenze after Change the language.
In this joggler after flashing nothing happens. Only the bootlogo from Swisscom is showing.

hmmm strange...
If I flash the orginal openframe Software, it works after rebooting.
So I thinks it's a Problem with booting or the joggler hasn't received a IP adress once.

Regards Shadow1901

markiii
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by markiii » Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:30 am

Chaps

I have a couple of Jogglers running Squeezeplay. since I have so much screen real estate I'd like to have the Album covers large when browsing the library.

Is there a way to tweek this, can't find anything with the search?

thanks

Mark

User avatar
roobarb!
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:30 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by roobarb! » Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:43 pm

markiii wrote:I have a couple of Jogglers running Squeezeplay. since I have so much screen real estate I'd like to have the Album covers large when browsing the library.

Is there a way to tweek this, can't find anything with the search?
You'd need to go digging into the skin design code to alter that sort of thing - good luck!
birdslikewires.net - home of the Reflash System, SqueezePlay (OS) and various tools for the Joggler!

markiii
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by markiii » Tue Jan 13, 2015 5:02 pm

shame, are you taking feature requests for the next version :-)?

marctwo

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by marctwo » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:17 pm

I have been having problems trying to get my jogglers onto my wireless network. I just read that you need to have the SSID broadcast for it to work and mine is hidden. Once it is connected, would I be able to hide it again or will it always need to be broadcast?

User avatar
palindrom
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by palindrom » Thu Jan 15, 2015 5:47 pm

roobarb! wrote:
markiii wrote:I have a couple of Jogglers running Squeezeplay. since I have so much screen real estate I'd like to have the Album covers large when browsing the library.

Is there a way to tweek this, can't find anything with the search?
You'd need to go digging into the skin design code to alter that sort of thing - good luck!

@markiii : Did you ever conciser using Erland Isakssons Album Flow Applet?
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Album_Flow_applet

markiii
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: SqueezePlay OS (Version 3) for OpenFrame

Post by markiii » Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:05 pm

I have tried unfortunately on all my jogglers it just hangs

Post Reply