Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

General discussion relating to the O2 Joggler, from the default O2 setup, to alternative operating systems and applications.
User avatar
dwl99
Posts: 750
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:38 am
Location: Glasgow

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by dwl99 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:23 am

Another brief update - Google Play Music is now working well on the Joggler & streams music from the cloud. Amazon MP3 Player likewise. The Ultimate Rotation Control app mentioned by hawsey now has a 7 day trial period but a good free alternative is Rotation Manager https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ionmanager - this allows me to use the Tripadvisor app without having to tilt my head sideways!

User avatar
asantaga
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:31 am

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by asantaga » Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:54 am

Brill, I've just come back to looking at my Jogglers.. awesome progress!
Angelo

rivergo1d
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:34 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by rivergo1d » Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:23 pm

Would online banking apps such as Santander, lloyds etc work on this build?

User avatar
dwl99
Posts: 750
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:38 am
Location: Glasgow

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by dwl99 » Sun Jun 01, 2014 5:24 pm

Theoretically no, as it's rooted. Also you cannot run root cloak on the Joggler Android builds as the Xposed Framework won't run.

lovingboth
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 9:27 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by lovingboth » Sat Jun 14, 2014 2:03 am

Thank you for this.

Once the img was written to the USB flash drive, the main problem I had was trying to go up an entry or two in the initial welcome screen, from US English to British English - the Joggler's screen is awfully crude compared to modern ones, and many touches of the screen are interpreted as 'clicks'. I was soon down past Zulu and into the non-Latin alphabet languages and then had to scroll, select, scroll, select, sc.. click, scroll etc back up again...

sero13
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by sero13 » Sun Jun 29, 2014 10:05 pm

Could anybody share how to get ethernet working with this build? I've seen references to enabling it via the command line but I'm a bit of an idiot and would need step by step instructions. My joggler is going in the garage at the bottom of the garden, well out of the way of WiFi signal but amazingly power line adapters work so ethernet is my only option.

This build is great, seems to be very stable. I tried bbc iplayer but it just crashes. I only really want the radio so I'll just use the iplayer radio app, but its a bit annoying that its portrait only. Ah well, first world problems!

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1877
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by hawsey » Sun Jun 29, 2014 10:18 pm

Sorry I can't help out on this build but why not try another android build where Ethernet does work :-)
You can download an app that forces horizontal and if works on this build I tried words with friends app and BBC news .
If you only really want radio you can't beat the options on PNPIII including squeeze play .
Also squezeplay os is supposed to be great but I have only tinkered with it ....
Happy Joggling

sero13
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by sero13 » Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:08 pm

Thanks for your reply. I think I'll have to look at another build but this one is the smoothest I've used so far so I thought it would be worth a go!

I found these instructions on apt he JazzMod thread from user fredo:
Hi there,

Just wanted to share about wired ethernet support in latest Mijuu's ICS release : http://www.mporting.com/2012/01/ics-4-0 ... ler-alpha/
Everything is already setup for wired ethernet to work in this release, but the Ethernet UI is missing in this version of Android X86.
So I found this post explaining the commands to run to activate Ethernet : https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... AruOgJ3ddc.
Here are the commands :

Code: Select all

# netcfg eth0 up
# netcfg eth0 dhcp
# setprop net.dns1 8.8.8.8
I tried it and it worked !
So I used instructions on this page to run the script at startup : http://www.technohunk.com/2013/02/how-t ... t-android/
Here is the script :

Code: Select all

#!/system/bin/sh
netcfg eth0 up
netcfg eth0 dhcp
setprop net.dns1 8.8.8.8
Everything works fine except that the market won't download apks over ethernet for some reason (App search/browsing works but installation hangs on "Getting network connection"). I did not investigate on that since the market works fine over Wifi (I installed my apps and disabled Wifi after).
They must be a way to run the script by placing it in /system/etc/init.d/ but I did not try that.
Hope this helped...
Enjoy !

Fred.
When I run the script it states:

Code: Select all

action 'up' failed (cannot assign requested address)
action 'dhcp' failed (cannot assign requested address)
Does anyone have any idea on how to get it working?

sero13
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by sero13 » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:39 am

Ok, so I have been playing around with this a little bit more. I tried some other android builds but none are anywhere near as stable as this one. I reflashed my usb stick with this one, only downloaded Nova Launcher and Terminal app and tried again.

I ran the following as su in terminal: # ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.131 netmask 255.255.255.0

After running netcfg it showed eth0 as up! I disconnected the wifi and I could connect to the internet! Hooray!

However… I read that ethernet doesn’t play nicely with the Goole Play store so I turned the wifi back on to download Google music. Then I rebooted. Big mistake! If I run netcfg now it shows eth0 as down and trying the ifconfig command again gives SIOCSIFFLAGS: cannot assign requested address.

Not sure where to go from here. Gutted as it feels like im so close! Anyone else have any ideas?

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1877
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by hawsey » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:16 am

So two people at least are having issues writing this to a stick and getting it to boot ,
Could this be a slow USB stick issue , what sticks are you trying out that are not booting ?
Tonight I will try and write to an old stuck and try replicate the issue .
Happy Joggling

jaydee999
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:40 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by jaydee999 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:51 am

One of them is me. I appreciate the help. Will also try other sticks.

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1877
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by hawsey » Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:35 pm

OK , looking back through the thread , I even had this problem in Jan 2014 :-)
So from my experience of failed sticks
1:Use the fastest stick you have
2: you must use the HP utilities tool to format the stick first not the windows format tool
3 : Use Win 32 disc imager to write to the stick

Is this what you are doing ?
Happy Joggling

mikeywilliams
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:23 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by mikeywilliams » Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:51 pm

hawsey wrote:OK , looking back through the thread , I even had this problem in Jan 2014 :-)
So from my experience of failed sticks
1:Use the fastest stick you have
2: you must use the HP utilities tool to format the stick first not the windows format tool
3 : Use Win 32 disc imager to write to the stick

Is this what you are doing ?
Yes I was following steps 2 and 3 as per usual.
The usb stick is a 4gb Xporter patriot.
Dont know how fast it is, but it worked fine for some other distros.
My last spare stick so better buy a couple more.
Many thanks for your patient help.

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1877
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by hawsey » Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:37 pm

Another thing , how long are you leaving it to boot ? It took ages for my first boot , not like other distros which seem quick by comparison .
Happy Joggling

jaydee999
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:40 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by jaydee999 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 6:19 pm

Historically, I've always used Bootice to format my sticks, but on the last teo occasions, I followed your instructions to the letter.
The sticks I am using are all 4GB, either Transcend generic or Sandisk Cruzer. I'm not leaving it to boot, because it doesn't even start: it keeps defaulting to the internal SQPOS software.

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1877
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by hawsey » Fri Sep 18, 2015 8:41 pm

That's interesting , @jaydee999 I wonder @mikeywilliams do you also have the SQPOS on internal ?
Just wondering if this version of Android is just taking too long to boot and so the internal is kicking in first .
As I looked back on the problems I had at first , all be it a year and a half ago though its probably not that because I've never flashed to internal before .
Also have either of you tried the earlier 1.2.3 version of Android ?
Happy Joggling

User avatar
dwl99
Posts: 750
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:38 am
Location: Glasgow

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by dwl99 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:33 pm

I don't recommend the earlier build, it's a lot clunkier. Make sure you are using the latest version of win32diskimager too.

mikeywilliams
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:23 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by mikeywilliams » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:43 pm

hawsey wrote:That's interesting , @jaydee999 I wonder @mikeywilliams do you also have the SQPOS on internal ?
Just wondering if this version of Android is just taking too long to boot and so the internal is kicking in first .
As I looked back on the problems I had at first , all be it a year and a half ago though its probably not that because I've never flashed to internal before .
Also have either of you tried the earlier 1.2.3 version of Android ?
Yes i do have sqpos on internal.
When i switch on the liddle led on the stick flashes away as though it is trying to boot.

OK. I just tried it on another joggler with pnp3 on it and, mirabile dictu, it booted into Android.
Well done Hawsey, you cracked it.
Now to explore Android on the joggler.
Thanks again!

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1877
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by hawsey » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:55 pm

Amazing ha ha , that's great so saying you only have a Joggler with SQPos on internal , then what :0)
Maybe a faster stick would work or maybe , a question for @Roobarb ( will be too busy to see this ) , could delaying the boot of Sqpos a little help ?
Questions questions .....
Happy Joggling

jaydee999
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:40 pm

Re: Android 4.04 build - now fully working!

Post by jaydee999 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:22 pm

One of the things I like about SQPOS internal is how quickly it boots. I'd hate to see that compromised.
Now we know the issue, it's no problem for me to install PnP or 30300, or whatever.
I think we should leave roobarb in peace, since the new baby probably won't be!
Congrats to roobarb, and thanks to hawsey.
And if you only have one Joggler, then you ain't a proper Joggler!. Buy another to play with!!

Post Reply