PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS - SUCCESS!!

General discussion relating to the O2 Joggler, from the default O2 setup, to alternative operating systems and applications.
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

@offbeatdave

Is the showmount command available in the Joggler ???

eg

showmount -e 192.168.0.13

which should return the path available
User avatar
offbeatdave
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:43 pm

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by offbeatdave »

castalla wrote:I keep coming across this as the default UNC

//192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek

Can you please try that?
I've found that a time or two as well when looking.
"EVERY DAY I'M JOGGLERING!"
Jogglering since Dec '09;
Tinkering with Jogglers since Feb '10 thanks to PMJ, Jogtools, PnP & sqpOS;
Gave something back Feb '12 to Apr '14 with PnP Mk II & PnP III;
Finally 'completed' PnP III Apr '15!
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

Earlier, error got an invalid argument response.

I found this but it doesn't explain much:

http://superuser.com/questions/611264/m ... -smb-share
User avatar
offbeatdave
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:43 pm

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by offbeatdave »

showmount: not found

If I try busybox.new I get showmount: applet not found
"EVERY DAY I'M JOGGLERING!"
Jogglering since Dec '09;
Tinkering with Jogglers since Feb '10 thanks to PMJ, Jogtools, PnP & sqpOS;
Gave something back Feb '12 to Apr '14 with PnP Mk II & PnP III;
Finally 'completed' PnP III Apr '15!
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

Grasping at straws ... some users getting 'invalid argument' report success by adding ,sec=ntlm to the command line

Had no response on Seagate forum for advice!
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

This is the command which got the invalid argument error:

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev

So, adding ,sec=ntlm at the end is worth a try

Probably need to add back Joggler as a user
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

Could you also try this:

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev

Might give some extra clues
Error
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:13 pm

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by Error »

castalla wrote:Could you also try this:

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev

Might give some extra clues

Code: Select all

login as: joggler
joggler@192.168.0.12's password:
# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -verbose -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
mount: invalid option -- e
BusyBox v1.16.1 (2010-04-30 10:35:46 BST) multi-call binary.

Usage: mount [OPTIONS] [-o OPTS] DEVICE NODE

Mount a filesystem. Filesystem autodetection requires /proc.

Options:
        -a              Mount all filesystems in fstab
        -f              Dry run
        -r              Read-only mount
        -w              Read-write mount (default)
        -t FSTYPE       Filesystem type
        -O OPT          Mount only filesystems with option OPT (-a only)
-o OPT:
        loop            Ignored (loop devices are autodetected)
        [a]sync         Writes are [a]synchronous
        [no]atime       Disable/enable updates to inode access times
        [no]diratime    Disable/enable atime updates to directories
        [no]relatime    Disable/enable atime updates relative to modification time
        [no]dev         (Dis)allow use of special device files
        [no]exec        (Dis)allow use of executable files
        [no]suid        (Dis)allow set-user-id-root programs
        [r]shared       Convert [recursively] to a shared subtree
        [r]slave        Convert [recursively] to a slave subtree
        [r]private      Convert [recursively] to a private subtree
        [un]bindable    Make mount point [un]able to be bind mounted
        bind            Bind a file or directory to another location
        move            Relocate an existing mount point
        remount         Remount a mounted filesystem, changing flags
        ro/rw           Same as -r/-w

There are filesystem-specific -o flags.

#
So, home again.. this is the code i'm getting
got this earlier today as well when I was fooling around with letting some things out of the command line (because of " invalid argument ")
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

Okay - try the same - but:

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

Also try:

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
Error
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:13 pm

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by Error »

Code: Select all

# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13/DataVolume/Public/Muziek on /media/media/media-share1 failed: No such device or address
#
I do get

Code: Select all

# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/DATA/Muziek /media/media/media-share2 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13/DATA/Muziek on /media/media/media-share2 failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
?? WTF is that??
Last edited by Error on Sat Sep 28, 2013 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

Okay - at least an understandable error.

Try the

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
Error
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:13 pm

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by Error »

Code: Select all

# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13/Muziek on /media/media/media-share1 failed: No such device or address
#
interesting??

Code: Select all

# /bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13 /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13 on /media/media/media-share1 failed
#
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

Our problem is that we can't determine what the address is for the shares on the NAS.

There's no coherent info about how to get the address - that's why we've ended up with all these variations.

At the basic level //ipaddress/Muziek should work .... but as we've seen it doesn't.

I'm almost out of ideas ....

Are you absolutely sure the nas is on ..... 0.13 ??
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13 /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev,sec=ntlm
mount: mounting //192.168.0.13 on /media/media/media-share1 failed

.... because there's no sharefolder specified
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

Can you try this:

In Win7 - go to Start - in the Search Programs and files box, type \\192.168.0.13 and hit return

This should open up the file explorer with the share directory - what do you get?
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

@error

Can you try the win7 Start tip - posted above - and report back?

I think we've lost track of what we've tried - so, I'm suggesting the following - let's work through the lists systematically???

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev 0 0


/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev

/bin/busybox.new mount -t cifs //192.168.0.13/Public/Muziek /media/media/media-share1 -o ro,user=Joggler,password=Joggler,_netdev 0 0


The 0 0 are numbers.

The above assume that the nas is definitely on 192.168.0.13 and that you've set up the user again
Last edited by castalla on Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Error
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:13 pm

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by Error »

the win7 tip reports the same as when I look it up via windows explorer,
//192.168.0.13/Muziek is the music-share.

I have setup the NAS publiccaly, so no login needed. I can make it to need a login. Have to change the settings for that.
I have no time now but will post back as soon as I've changed it.
castalla
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 10:33 am

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by castalla »

When you open with Start \\ and the explorer window opens - do you only see the Muziek folder ?
User avatar
JimbobVFR400
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:39 pm

Re: PNPIII - trying to get NAS mounted for LMS

Post by JimbobVFR400 »

I'm not sure about PNP but certainly on SqueezeplayOS mounting simply didn't work without having a user name and password with rights to the folder concerned. Guest or anonymous access is what I originally had configured on my NAS for the music share but needed to set up access rights to get it functioning with the Joggler.
Post Reply