speed of your broadband?

Non Joggler related discussion.
User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Thu May 22, 2014 11:57 pm

That is not good :-\
the problem is possibly that you now need a profile reset after the fault on your line has been cleared as the DLM in the exchange may have reduced your speed to make your line more stable when you had a problem .
Have you just got one telephone socket ?
Happy Joggling

ilovemyjoggler
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by ilovemyjoggler » Fri May 23, 2014 10:26 am

One main (new) socket and a couple running off that. Tried usual troubleshooting with tech support and now waiting for next level of tech help. He was impressed with how bad speed is :roll: . Stupidly I didn't mention the DLM but then neither did he.

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Fri May 23, 2014 2:38 pm

This is what I do for a living :-) ideally you need a nte5a main socket with a SSFP (front plate with a phone port and a data port ) at the point of entry of your overhead or underground cable , once you have it like that a reset may be required as the speed will not automatically jump up to what it should be ; this depends if you are off sky or BT equipment in the exchange .
Also it is important not to switch the router off at nights .
They might want to send out an Openreach engineer but that could cost .

Hope that helps .
A couple of things I forgot , if your router is not where the main socket is you either have to move it or plug in a long data cable and run it from the data port ( can also wire in ) to your router .
Also any wires connected before the main socket need to be removed .
Happy Joggling

ilovemyjoggler
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by ilovemyjoggler » Sat May 24, 2014 1:48 pm

photo 1.JPG
Hi Hawsey

Thanks for your advice. Here's the new internal master socket installed by BT a couple of days ago. Is it the one you mentioned? Router has been tested on all sockets (no change to speed) but I can't move router long term as the xbox is attached to it in another room.

Hopefully sky can sort it out and get us back up to our usual 5 meg. Which is still a bit rubbish really.

PS. He mucked up our paintwork!
Last edited by ilovemyjoggler on Sat May 24, 2014 4:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Sat May 24, 2014 4:08 pm

Hopefully you get it sorted soon , so how does the cable get from the main socket to the Xbox ?
Moving the router will not change the speed unless the internal extensions are removed or filtered and the line is re set if your line is BT wholesale ( that's in places where you can't get the cheap sky deals )
Can the black cable coming in to the house not be moved to where the Xbox and router is ? That would be the best solution then with a SSFP your extensions would be filtered out .
Good luck .
Happy Joggling

ilovemyjoggler
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by ilovemyjoggler » Sat May 24, 2014 4:46 pm

hawsey wrote:so how does the cable get from the main socket to the Xbox ?
wired in extension lead.
hawsey wrote:Moving the router will not change the speed unless the internal extensions are removed or filtered and the line is re set if your line is BT wholesale ( that's in places where you can't get the cheap sky deals ).
Hmm. I tried the router in the main socket with all extensions and other phones removed but there was no resetting of the line... :?:
hawsey wrote:Can the black cable coming in to the house not be moved to where the Xbox and router is ? That would be the best solution then with a SSFP your extensions would be filtered out.
Not really as the xbox is housed in the middle of the house with no external walls.

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Sat May 24, 2014 4:58 pm

Is it not wireless :-)
Happy Joggling

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Sat May 24, 2014 5:02 pm

If you could wireless your Xbox and move the router to the main socket (with exyensions either filtered out or removed )then get a re set you will get your max possible speed like that :-)
Happy Joggling

ilovemyjoggler
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by ilovemyjoggler » Sat May 24, 2014 5:46 pm

Chicken and egg. Xbox does have wifi but the kids moaning about the disconnections and lags made our ears bleed so we had to use a cable. I suspect you're right and we'll need to reassess setup. Who does the re-set?

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Sat May 24, 2014 5:53 pm

Power line adapters ? They work well now .
If your exchange is modern (LLU ) sky will do it and you could just call them and ask for ADSL tech support .
If you are on a non llu line sky just rents everything off BT so they will have to do it , that is more complex :-/.
Happy Joggling

ilovemyjoggler
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by ilovemyjoggler » Sat May 24, 2014 7:20 pm

LLU. I'll speak to sky about a reset. As you're in the know can you recommend a good powerline adapter? Ta!

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Sat May 24, 2014 9:57 pm

You will need to have the router in the main socket with the extensions disconnected for the reset to give you max speed : if you still want to use your other phone extensions after that you will need an SSFP which sandwiches in to the socket you have also .
I have these adapters and they work great
TP-Link TL-PA211KIT AV200 Nano 200Mbps Powerline Adapter - Twin Pack by TP-Link http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B004INVKP4/r ... Gtb0PDFBAY
I paid a lot more for em too :-/
.....
Happy Joggling

ilovemyjoggler
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by ilovemyjoggler » Tue May 27, 2014 12:55 pm

Speed is finally back up to normal. Hawsey, thanks for the advice & recommendation - we'll implement some changes.

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Tue May 27, 2014 10:30 pm

Good news :-) glad to hear it
Happy Joggling

parrafin23
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 8:04 am
Location: Nroway

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by parrafin23 » Fri Jun 27, 2014 5:01 pm

Image

My Isp just upgraded the speed for up/down from 60/60 to 75/75 Free of charge.

Someting with Residential demand???

But im not crying

Mr.P

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:21 am

That's a good speed there , the ping of 1 ms we don't get that here in the UK as far as I know the best ping I have ever seen is 12 ms 8-)
Happy Joggling

gegs
Posts: 1139
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:22 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by gegs » Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:10 am

An upload speed faster than download? Amazing!
My upload speed is about 5% of my download speed, sometimes less.

User avatar
hawsey
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by hawsey » Sun Jun 29, 2014 2:51 pm

Yep totally different characteristics to UK broadband , ping much slower and upload is always just a fraction of download !
Happy Joggling

Juggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:34 am

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by Juggler » Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:40 pm

I wonder if 'holly' has any relationship with scanmyspeed.con ?

User avatar
JimbobVFR400
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:39 pm

Re: speed of your broadband?

Post by JimbobVFR400 » Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:53 pm

Certainly smells like a spammer to me :)

Post Reply