Just saying hello

Non Joggler related discussion.
Steve B

Just saying hello

Post by Steve B »

Since I am a member of several other forums the usual etiquette is to say hello. I had a quick look around for the most suitble place to post this and here we are :)

Having been on the site most of the day reading around the different threads and topics I have decided to jump in and attempt to get a Joggler set up as a media streamer from a NAS to my hifi.

As a complete noob to all things Joggler, linux, ssh etc I can see it will be an adventure but I have to say the way the members here have treated the other beginners here like me was a big push to give it a go! Hopefully you'll be patient me when I ask the inevitable dumb questions!

I've checked the marketplace for a Joggler and will place an order for a Behringer UCA202. Once everything is here I'll be back to pester you!

Cheers
Steve
offbeatdave

Re: Just saying hello

Post by offbeatdave »

Welcome aboard! Hope you've got a good amount of free space in you brain for all the stuff you'll learn along the way!
"EVERY DAY I'M JOGGLERING!"
Jogglering since Dec '09;
Tinkering with Jogglers since Feb '10 thanks to PMJ, Jogtools, PnP & sqpOS;
Gave something back Feb '12 to Apr '14 with PnP Mk II & PnP III;
Finally 'completed' PnP III Apr '15!
gegs

Post by gegs »

Hi Steve B, welcome aboard.

Your Joggler purchase will be one of the best (and cheapest) tech purchases you will ever make. I have three operational ones and four others for tinkering or replacements should any of my Jogglers die (which hasn't happened yet and they have been on 24/7 for over 4 years.)

You will find that some of the tools you are unfamiliar with are actually fairly easy to use. I'd never used SSH before getting my Joggler and the knowledge I've gained here has helped me set up other things, like Raspberry Pi servers.